top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia

"Baby It's Cold Outside" Gets a Feminist Twist

“Baby It’s Cold Outside” has been a Christmas classic ever since it was released in 1944, but it hasn’t aged very well. If you listen closely to the lyrics, you’ll hear inappropriate and mildly uncomfortable lines, best seen when the woman singing says: “Say, what's in this drink?”

John Legend released a new version of the song on November 14, and it’s better than the original in multiple ways.



Legend’s version featuring Kelly Clarkson is more romantic than the original. It is flirtatious in a way that is playful and fun, and chivalrous, definitely improving upon the creepiness from before. When Clarkson asks to borrow a coat, Legend tells her to keep it.



Clarkson and Legend kept the iconic line: “Ooh you really know how (your eyes are like starlight now)”. But the following line: “To cast a spell (one look at you and then I fell)” is one of the most romantic of the entire song. In addition, the song says: “Time with you is paradise” making the romantic theme that is strong throughout, even stronger than the original.

However, despite the expanded-upon romance of this song, a lot of people have criticism for the update. Fans attacked Legend on Twitter, saying to leave the classics alone. But this new version fits the culture of 2019, with the Time’s Up and #metoo movements, much better.

According to TIME, part of the reason for the scandalous lyrics of the 1944 version, was the miniature sexual revolution of the time, many participated in activities they wouldn't had if it was peacetime, since men were being drafted so frequently. "about half of women and more than half of men said they had had premarital sex. But for women who were caught doing so, the consequences could be steep. Her personal reputation and her family’s reputation was on the line. Abortion was criminalized, and contraception was illegal in most states," said TIME reporter Olivia Waxman in her December 5 article.

During the song, Legend calls Clarkson a car when she says she’s ready to leave, and tells her the name of her driver to boot. (It’s Murray by the way, they even found a way to make the driver’s name fit the rhyme scheme of the song.) Then, during the back and forth of whether she should stay or go, he says: “I want you to stay but it’s not up to me”. Later, when she’s unsure of having another drink, he tells her: “It’s your body and your choice.” When Clarkson worries about the town gossip, he says: “Well, they can talk, what do they know”.

Basically, the reason John Legend won sexiest man alive is this song. It’s more romantic than the original and the subtle feminism leaves listeners without the unsettling feeling of the 1944 version.

And for those who debate which one to listen to, for the record, John Legend doesn’t care. He told People Magazine “It’s just another version of the song. If you don’t want to listen to it, you don’t have to. No one’s saying you can’t listen to the old version. Those versions all exist. People make new versions of songs all the time and we thought it’d be fun to update the song and make it more current.”


The New Lyrics

I really can't stay (baby, it's cold outside) I've got to go away (but, I can call you a ride) This evening has been (I'm so glad you that you dropped in) So very nice (time spent with you is paradise) My mom will start to worry (I'll call the car and tell him to hurry) My daddy will be pacing the floor (wait, what are you still livin' home for?) So, really, I'd better scurry (your driver, his name is Murray) But maybe just a half a drink more (oh, we're both adults, so who's keepin' score) What will my friends think? (I think they should rejoice) If I have one more drink? (It's your body and your choice) Ooh you really know how (your eyes are like starlight now) To cast a spell (one look at you and then I fell) I ought to say, "No, no, no, sir" (then you really ought to go, go, go) At least I'm gonna say that I tried (well, Murray, he just pulled up outside)

I really can't stay (I understand, baby) Baby, it's cold outside

I simply should go (text me when you get home) Oh, I'm supposed to say no (mm, I guess that's respectable) This welcome has been (I feel lucky that you dropped in) So nice and warm (but you better go before it storms) My sister will be suspicious (well, gosh your lips look delicious) My brother will be there at the door (oh, he loves my music, baby, I'm sure) My gossipy neighbor's vicious (I'm a genie, tell me what your wish is) But maybe just a cigarette more (oh, that's somethin' we should probably explore) I've got to get home (oh, baby, I'm well aware) Say, lend me a coat (oh, keep it girl, I don't care) You've really been grand (I feel good to touch me hands) Don't you see? (I want you to stay, it's not up to me) There's bound to be talk tomorrow (well, they can talk, what do they know) At least there will be plenty implied (oh, let their mind do this, and-) Ma'am, I really can't stay

Baby, just go It's cold, baby It's cold, baby But, ooh, I don't wanna go It's cold outside

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page