top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia

Golden Glow!

Happy summer! Unfortunately, I am very Irish and therefore I don't tan easily. So pretty much the only way I can get golden in the summer is through makeup. Here are some of my favorite products to help you glow golden all summer long as the sun shines and golden hours lasts for actual hours.

1. Too faced Natural Matte palette - no one these shades are shimmery but they layer to make a an amazing bronze look when pair with the Clinique mini palette, set "chocolate cookie" into your crease and blend out using "honey butter", apply to "nudie" lid and do a cut crease with a Stila Glitter and Glow or use clinique shade "gold rush." I got my palette at TJ Maxx and sadly the palette is no longer available, however a very similar palette is available that is very similar but has a different packaging. Its available at Sephora for $38 https://www.sephora.com/product/natural-matte-eyeshadow-palette-P429603

2. Clinique Chubby Stick Highlight - The highlighter is a part of the chubby stick family and while it only comes in 1 shade "hefty highlight" but its amazing. It seems a very subtle at first but in the sunlight its a blinding glow. This lights up your face and makes your glow seem natural even if it isn't, while also sculpting and defining natural cheekbones. The product is smooth and easily blendable. It is a perfect color for my fair skin tone and is shocking blinding in direct lighting. It is still available at Clinique for $24 https://www.clinique.com/product/14346/34748/Makeup/Contouring/Chubby-Stick-Sculpting-Highlight

3. A Clinique mini palette - this was a gift from my mom. My favorite shade is the copper color which is stunning and makes my blue eyes pop. All four shades are shimmery in a way that is stunning but with a layer of subtly. Since this was a gift from my mom a while ago I was unable to find it online or where to purchase it.

4. Essie nail polish - Essie is my go to for all kinds of polish. The colors are stunning and cover pretty much every shade of the rainbow. Their shimmery shades are super fun and this sparkly color which is bronze sparkles is fun and goes with pretty much everything adding the hint of sparkle which puts outfits over the edge making them perfect. this shade is "summit of style" which is described as "sparkling bronze glitters achieve fashionable new heights" by the Essie website. https://www.essie.com/nail-polish/enamel/metallics/summit-of-style

5. Life On Mars eyeshadow - Life on Mars is pretty much the love of my life. Their line of skincare is stunning, locally made on Long Island, and most importantly organic and paraben free. This shadow single in the shade "Solstice" is the most perfect color EVER. It can be worn with other colors are by its self and even more incredibly with or without primer. The brand only has some of their products available online but please check out their website to view everything they have available. https://www.lifeonmarsbeauty.com

6. Stila Glitter and Go - I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! The glitters are smooth and easily blendable and add so much fun to every makeup look. Glittery makeup is more fun than any other makeup look. They are one of the best products in my makeup collection perfect to add to a cut crease of as a sparkle on the center of the eyelid. I got my glitters in a set of three minis. Since i purchased mine they have released multiple other sets of minis, also look at TJ Maxx because they are often available there. A single glitter is available at Ulta, Sephora or through Stila's website for $24. My favorite shade is Kitten Karma, which was included in my minis set. https://www.sephora.com/product/magnificent-metals-glitter-glow-liquid-eye-shadow-P63087293


Remember its summer and while a healthy glow is always enjoyed it is super important to wear SPF, especially if you live close to the equator. The FDA recommends an SPF of at least 15 while AAD recommends an SPF of a least 30. One of my favorite lip balms is the Burt's Bees all weather lip balm with SPF 15.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page