top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia

Life on Mars- I love you to the moon and back

I was lucky enough to experience a mini make over with Life on Mars makeup on April 8, the experience was incredible!




Life on Mars is all organic makeup brand designed locally and on Long Islip. It was originally designed for women who had or have breast cancer, since Life on Mars is based out of Racine Salon in Islip, where they have Mondays at Racine a program helping women feel comfortable when starting chemotherapy treatments . The company is now focusing on teenagers so they can focus on having high quality makeup products that don't contain parabens, which are commonly found in breast cancer tumors, for the height of their makeup loving years and help them have a healthy lifestyle free of chemicals.


The line which has products ranging from cleansers and facial sprays to nail polish and topcoats, is forever expanding based on seasons and trends in colors.

Most of the products feature beneficial ocean bases such as sea water or algae, showing how highly influenced by the surrounding environment Long Islanders

are.


The line is inspired heavily by late pop singer David Bowie, and is completely celestial themed in product naming, Luna Moon, Venus and Milky Way to name a few.
















Their Neptune cleanser which is one of my products features algae. It sounds odd to rub algae on your face but it is incredibly powerful. You can feel it vacuum out your pores and by the end of using the cleanser with a sea sponge ( as recommended by line creator Cynthia) all black heads are gone and skin feels refreshed and clean.








After having my face cleansed with the Neptune cleanser sea sponge duo, my face was spritzed with the Andromeda spray and I had the Siris eye cream applied. Over all it was light and felt very relaxing and clean.








While my skin was treated the makeup was done on my eyes. Starting with the botanical shadow primer, which prepped my eyes for the shadow. The eyeshadow "Solistce" was sweeped across my lids. the color is a duochrome light brown color.










Their foundation was light and felt like there was nothing on, after it was applied with light sweeps of a kabuki brush.


Their blush look like a natural flush on my cheeks, almost the goal of Scarlet O'Hara's goal when she pinches her cheeks before leaving to go the party in "Gone With The Wind."


The mascara perfectly accentuated my natural eyelashes while adding length and making my eyes look giant.








The overall experience of a Life on Mars makeover was lovely, and it felt good knowing my makeup didn't contain anything harmful. I've been going to Racine my entire life and being able to watch this line grow so much makes me incredibly happy and very proud!


Please follow both Life on Mars and Racine on Instagram and if you live on Long Island please check them out, the salon and the makeup line are incredible.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page