top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia

shop my insta - nye 2019


New Years Eve means one thing - sparkle. From champagne or sparkling cider to the decorations and fireworks everything sparkles. Its super important to make sure your outfit does too! Feel free to mix medals and textures and combine different colors and types of gems. My look features rose gold shoes with pearl embellishments and a silver sequin skirt and a simple top to create a put together but fun look.


Here's how to recreate my look :


Step one: shoes. In true Carrie Bradshaw and Marilyn Monroe fashion shoes are one of the most important parts of the outfit. My Steve Madden heels are rose gold with pearl embellishments on the heel and strap across the toe they are super comfy and so chic. I found them at TJ Maxx, so remember to check out stores like Marshalls and TJ Maxx because their shoe section is always on point. Steve Madden's Carson R in "Crystal" are super cute and are the same shape of my shoes but completely covered in crystals. Forever 21's Iridescent Block heels are also super similar since they are rose golds and have iridescent straps around the ankle and across the toe. Lulus Taylor Ankle Strap Heels in rose gold or multicolored are both similar to my shies and more importantly SPARKLY an absolute must for News Years Eve. For a lower heeled option Steve Madden's Joena Sandal which comes in both silver and gold. The shoes are an important part of the outfit and they should sparkle as brightly as the ball in Times Square.


Step two : SEQUINS. My skirt is matte silver sequins but they still sparkle even though being matte and is from JC Penney a few seasons ago. Most similar to it is Lulu's Love Me Now sequin mini skirt in rose gold because it has a similar cut and similar sequin texture. Forever 21's iridescent sequin mini skirt in blue/multi has bigger sequins that give the skirt and oceanic feel while also being incredibly sleek. Revolve's Arie Mini Skirt is amazing because the sequins are reversible, let me repeat that, they are reversible, flip the sequins one way and they are silver, the other way and the sequins are white. ASOS's weekday sequin mini skirt in copper is also similar to the shape of my skirt. The skirt can be pattered or colorful as long it is sparkly in some way to provide an almost disco ball factor.


Step three : neutral top. My name is a cropped black sweater from Brandy Melville, but any simple black top would work. I prefer the shirt or sweater to be long sleeved since NYE tends to be freezing here in New York. The Brandy Melville Amara Top is similar but features a v neck and a cross over with a "seam under the bust" according to the Brandy Melville website. Lulu's Hollis black ribbed long sleeve crop top is also similar but is a shirt not a sweater like mine. The texture and cut of the top doesn't really matter but it should be comfortable and simple to allow focus to be on the shoes and the skirt.


New Year's eve is a fun day for all, and I enjoyed relaxing in my living room in my pajama's having my annual Hunger Games movie marathon until 11 o'clock when I put on the news to watch the performances before the ball dropped. Liza Koshy did amazing and I loved watching all the performances. xoxo, Julia

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page