top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia

Tips for a great school year


In thirteen days, I will be starting my junior year of high school. I'm an AP student on High Honor roll, an editor for my school newspaper and I have big plans for this year. I have also learned a lot about high school in the past 2 years, being a transfer student from a strict Catholic elementary school, going to public school has given me freedom and allowed me to thrive. Of course, like any transfer student there were bumps in the roads and it took some adjusting but here are somethings I've learned to help all of you have a great year.


1. Always have back up snacks and water. The days aren't actually as long as they seem, but when you have an important class at the end of the day the last thing you need is to have your blood sugar get low and you get tired., because a tired student is unfocused and inattentive. I always have lots of fruit and water with me to help myself stay awake and alert during the day. Remember to discuss with teachers their eating policy, most will be cool with it as long as you don't make a mess, but some teachers like science teachers might have more specific rules, especially in rules where you might come in contact with bacteria or animals.

2. Stay organized. I find having a separate binder for homework only and a well -organized planner with up to date assignments and upcoming important dates like tests, due dates and field trips and organizing things in colors makes it easier to read. I separate my homework by class, to keep everything organized and easy to find. My planner is a Happy Planner and its aspirations are fun and helpful, they go on sale every January at Micheal's Craft Store.

3. Keep things you might needing your locker. I keep a mirror, pain medication like Advil, extra loose leaf paper and extra pencils and pens in my locker just in case I need anything. I always carry whiteout and hair ties in my backpack so they are always close and easy to reach. It's always better to be extra prepared because you never know what you may need during the day. Also distributing pencils and paper to those who run out during the day makes you look prepared and kind earning you bonus points with teachers and peers.

4. Become close with teachers you'll have more than once or are relating to with you plan to major in in college. It's important to be close your teachers fro two reason. One - In a few years you will need letters of recommendation when applying to college, the closer you are with your teachers the better the letters of recommendation may be. Two - its always important to have people behind you and if you are close with you teachers with will be supportive and provide amazing opportunities for college and career. It's also fun to have someone to laugh with on trips of in classes where you're not really friends with anyone else in the class.



I know its cliche but everyday I get closer to school starting gets me closer to it ending too and I will be making the most of this year and i hope you all will, too.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page